"Coil Process"

About: Locala Community Partnerships CIC / Kirklees Sexual Health

(as the patient),

I've already posted a comment re having a coil replaced at Dewsbury Health Centre, but now I have been through the full process, I felt the need to warn others.

The initial appointment of having a coil replaced was fantastic but seriously let down by the rest of the process.

I originally visited at the beginning of Feb after being told I would need a consultation with a nurse. Working full time, I had to waste half a day's annual leave for a sit & wait appointment where the nurse went through the process which I was already aware of given I wanted it replacing. I could then book an appointment for the procedure to be done but the waiting time for this was 5 weeks! Good job I hadn't waited until the expiry date for my coil as I would have been well over the date!

Once the coil was fitted, the nurse told me I could book an appointment with reception to have it checked in 6 weeks. Went back out to be told it couldn't be booked & that it was another sit & wait job. Great!

Whilst checking the Locala website last weekend to check the clinic times for my 6 week check, I noticed that they now had bookable evening appointments & they had changed their clinic times. Luckily I managed to get an appointment after work for tonight but given they have merged with another service, I was asked to fill a form out so they had all my details & the nurse asked me a load of personal questions re my sex life. I found both these laughable given these should have been asked on my initial visit back in February & hopefully I don't have to return for 5 years.

Sorry guys, but apart from being looked after on my main visit, the rest of it was very poor.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Sarah True, Customer Engagement Manager, Locala Community Partnerships

Dear SP82

We are sorry you weren’t happy with your recent experience within our Sexual Health Clinic. We have recently merged a number of services and this led to longer waiting times and a need to update all our records – we are sorry that you had a difficult time.

We have to go through everyone’s medical history for the fitting of an IUD. Things could have changed over the years since the previous IUD was fitted, therefore we have to ensure all our records are up-to-date, that patients are still suitable for the procedure and that all the risks and possible complications are explained.

At the time you visited us our waiting time was at its height due to important team training on the new systems. Since taking over on April 1 we have made a number of changes to the appointment times, we been able to add more appointments as the team have come became fully trained. Also as a result of patient feedback we have added more evening appointments.

I am sorry you had to go through the registration process twice – you happen to have had your first appointment before the merge and your second after, so we needed to update our new system. I can see how frustrating this must have been but now that we have your details you shouldn’t need to do it again. However, should you return in 5 years for a replacement we will still need to run through the process again as things will have changed and we will need to check that this is the right option for you.

Once again I apologize for the inconvenience caused.


  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful