"Receptionists at my G.P practice"

About: NHS Lothian

(as the patient),

I think the receptionists are very unhelpful and very insensitive. Considering they work in a GP I would have thought they would be a bit understanding and show a little empathy.

On several occasions they question the severity, and have never given me an emergency appointment even in the case where I had then had to be referred to hospital for surgery.

I think it is disgraceful that a surgery has been operating with poor receptionists for this long considering the GP's and nurses have excellent customer care and the receptionists let the whole practice down.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Jeannette Morrison, Head of Patient Experience, NHS Lothian

Dear Corstorphine Resident

I was sorry to read of your difficulites with the reception staff when you contacted your local GP practice.

GPs are independent contractors and I would encourage you to contact them directly by writing to the Practice Manager. If you do not wish to do this the Patient Experience Team could do this on your behalf but we would need more information from you. If you would like us to do this please can you contact the Patient Experience Team:

Telephone: 0131 536 3370

Email: feedback@nhslothian.scot.nhs.uk

Post: 2 - 4 Waterloo Place, Edinburgh, EH1 3EG

Kind regards


  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful