"Ward 43 ,"

About: St James's University Hospital

My elderly Auntie not treated with care couldn't wait to get her home even though she was no better than when she was admitted.

Even sent her home with her cannula in .I rang the sister on the ward who was quite stroppy and no help . Trying to get any information is a joke if you manage to catch someone they tell you they will come back and see you but they never do. Sad state if affairs out NHS the staff are uncaring said they are busy but always managing to be laughing and joking around the nurses station while ignoring the bells the poor elderly are pressing for attention. You should be ashamed of yourselved ward 43

More about:

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Leeds Teaching Hospitals

Dear Anonymous,

Thank you for taking the time to write to us.

I am very sorry to read your post regarding your aunts care, the level of service that you have described is not what we wish to offer.

I have passed your comments onto the Matron and Head of Nursing for ward J43 so that they can address the issues that you have raised.

It would be very beneficial for our services and for future patients if you could discuss the matters you have raised further with our Trust’s Patient Advise and Liaison Service (PALS). This would also allow us look into the matters you have raised more thoroughly and also to see if there are any lessons that we could learn from yours and your aunts experience.

Please call our Patient Advise and Liaison Service (PALS) on 0113 206 6261 or alternatively email patientexperience.leedsth@nhs.net

With kind regards

Senior Nurse
Patient Experience

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful