"Ward 34B"

About: Southmead Hospital

Whilst I cannot fault the expertise & dedication of my consultant or the friendliness & professionalism of the theatre staff & anaesthetists, the 'care' I received from Ward 34B left me traumatised & totally exhausted after my major op last week.

Within ten minutes of arriving from my op to a room, I was moved to a ward to make room for a patient.

Over the next three days I was moved a further four times - once woken at 4am by a nurse telling me I was being moved again.

My belongings were dumped on top of me in the bed.

Not once did I get the chance to relax & recover from my surgery as it was drummed into me frequently that the room/my bed was needed by patients in a & e & yet I witnessed several patients occupying beds 'having tests' for 'headaches' & 'vaginal discharge' whose tests all came back negative & were discharged having had a nice rest left alone in an observation ward opposite the nurses station.

Why was I not afforded the same respect to recover from major surgery?

There was a noticeable lack of care or concern for patients with the exception of one member of staff plus there was little continuity at shift changes.

The discharge suite is a disgrace - patients occupying this room were on the whole unwell & unfit for discharge but were subjected to a cluster of bullying staff.

'Favourites' ie frequent A & E misusers were cosseted by the same staff & sent off in their NHS transport with packets of sandwiches, loaves of bread & biscuits supplied for all patients.

It is my opinion that at Southmead Hospital after the consultants have done their excellent work, patients are at the mercy of too many people in the wrong job who do not engage for a second with patient care or well being.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Southmead Hospital

Dear Loren – I was concerned to learn of your poor stay on Ward 34B, clearly your experience is not one that we would wish for any patient, and I apologise that you were not given time or provided with an environment that assisted with your recovery. I would therefore be grateful if you could contact me via Complaints@nbt.nhs.uk to supply your personal details and any more information you have, so the Head of Nursing for Anaesthesia, Surgical & Critical Care can investigate your unsatisfactory care. Having your details will allow the Head of Nursing to more precisely understand and maximise any learning to ensure other patients are provided with the correct environment to recuperate from their surgery. We will also be able to provide you with a detailed response.

I am also sorry you also found your experience in the Discharge Suite so poor. While I cannot comment on any specifics, all patients will have been clinically assessed as fit for discharge. It is often the case that while still poorly patients will often make a better recovery in their own home, where they feel more comfortable, and where they may wish to be.

Thank you for your kind comments about the clinical staff, I was pleased to learn they were friendly & professional and your positive comments have been fed back to them.

I am grateful to you for taking the time and trouble to post your views of your inpatient stay in Southmead. Once again we would welcome the chance to more fully understand the circumstances surrounding your experience on Ward 34 and the Discharge Suite so a thorough investigation can be undertaken.

Kind Regards – Steve Sykes

Advice and Complaints Team

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful