"Lack of patient care"

About: Royal Infirmary of Edinburgh at Little France

(as a relative),

My father has been in hospital for two weeks, he has dementia and is registered blind. He has been transferred wards twice, the hospital has lost all his clothes and his teeth.

Without teeth he cannot eat, but nobody has done anything to find them or to replace them. These will cost over £1000 to replace, and with my parents having to find the cost of a home for him do not need this extra burden and the hospital lost them so the hospital should cover the cost and arrange for new ones, rather than making my 75yr old mother take my 86yr old father touring round to find a dentist.

My father is also incapable of feeding himself properly and hospital staff have not been feeding him but leaving him by himself. When we visit he is covered in food that has not made it anywhere near his mouth, but staff do not seem to care.

I hate to complain about staff as it is usually the management at fault but in this case there appears to be a complete failure in my fathers care, dignity and compassion.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Jeannette Morrison, Head of Patient Experience, NHS Lothian

Dear kaitchy,

I am so sorry to read what has been happening to your father - this sounds awful.

Please can you contact me at the Patient Experience Team so that we can try to help.

Our contact details are feedback@nhslothian.scot.nhs.uk or by telephone 0131 536 3370.

Kind regards


  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story