"Great Birth Experience / Very Impersonal..."

About: St Thomas' Hospital (London)

I gave birth at St Thomas's on 28 Aug 2015. I delivered within 30 minutes of arriving at the hospital so my labour was well advanced by the time I had arrived. I was seen to right away and was very well looked after. The midwives were wonderful. The only negatives were 1) lack of hot water in the shower afterwards and 2) it took a bit longer than I had hoped to be discharged because of staff shortages. Having said that, I was in and out in 17hrs, so I can hardly complain! Please say an enormous thank you to the team on the Home from Home ward.

I thought that the antenatal care was a bit impersonal - I did not see the same midwife twice. The receptionists also didn't look very friendly but turned out to be both fun and helpful in the end.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from St Thomas' Hospital

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are pleased to hear that overall you were happy with your experience on Home For Home. We would like to apologise for the lack of hot water on that day and that the initial welcome by the Reception Team was not as warm as it could have been. We are sorry to hear that your antenatal care felt impersonal due to the different staff you saw.

There is a lot of evidence to show that women's experience of antenatal care is much more likely to be positive if they have continuity of care from 1 or 2 midwives and although we provide this for some women, it is our long term aim to be able to offer this model of antenatal care to all women. We will share your feedback with the team.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful