"This place needs closing down. A waste of..."

I had an initial appointment in Oct 2015 that I couldn't attend. I called on numerous occasions to rearrange the appointment; they never called me back. I was always re-assured that they were going to call back to offer me an appointment; they never did. That went on until April 2016 when I discovered Healthy Minds and the various different ways they can help you. The difference in communication became apparent instantly - it's obvious they're on the ball. However, I can't access their services until I get discharged from Greenfields' "care" even though I've not actually seen anyone there yet.

Over the last month I've been calling Greenfields weekly to get them discharge me so I can go to Healthy Minds and get better. The 1st week I was told that they would sort out my discharge. I called the next week - they told me that they were going to have a meeting about it and they “can't just discharge me like that.” A meeting was due to take place on the Tuesday and they should’ve called me on Wednesday. Nobody called. I called on Thursday to be told they had made an appointment for me in May even though I was asking to be discharged. I was insistent that I don't need their "help" & the whole situation was making me worse.

I thought this was a free country & I can choose who I ask for help but it seems that they have a different view & they're running a dictatorship not a "service". I won't be attending the appointment as I’ve asked to be discharged. I’ve been told they will hold another meeting next week about the discharge. I asked, "Will anybody let me know the outcome. I wasn't contacted this week even though I was promised,” they responded, "I'll see if someone can contact you". Ridiculous. No one takes ownership of your problem they shift responsibility and try to defend their unacceptable service levels.

I called them this week as no one called me back. I was told I have an appointment in May & they don’t know anything about a meeting that was going to take place this week or the outcome of it. At this point I became exasperated. I was promised a call back in 10 minutes; 2hrs later I got a call from someone with no communication skills; their only talent was treating people with contempt.

In every interaction with Greenfields, they're rude, condescending & treat you with contempt. They don't explicitly say it, but imply you're lying to them, when you explain the poor service received from them. They dispute the fact that no one got in touch with me to offer another appointment. I’ve never once had an apology from them. You wouldn't pay for this poor service - but as a taxpayer I'm am paying and they bring the NHS into disrepute. I have minor mental health issues that I need help with. I can't imagine what it must be like for someone who's on the edge and seeks help from these amateurs.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Greenfields Centre

I apologise that you feel you have had such a negative experience with our Centre and staff and that it has impacted on your wish to move forward and away from our services to a service you feel will aid your recovery more effectively. I am aware that you have now spoken with the manager overseeing the services and I understand the issue has been resolved hopefully to your satisfaction

I apologise that it had taken so long to get sorted to your satisfaction and wish you well in your recovery for the future.

Veronica Emlyn Patient Experience Lead

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful