"My experience"

About: Kettering General Hospital / Maternity

(as the patient),

I had my baby delivered by c section after that was placed in rowan ward, thought they were going to be great help and support. Some of the midwives I met there were really helpful, nice, supportive.

Should be the biggest understanding woman to woman, because we all go through the same- baby delivering, pain, hormones, sensitivity.

After delivery, especially a difficult one all woman need is support more than ever, instead I had an awful experience.

Any mum to be if i was you i'd think which hospital to choose for delivering your baby. I felt at Kettering Hospital instead of having a  wonderful painful experience you may be treated like you are pretending you suffer i feel.

I honestly felt discriminated against, but not just that.

I felt midwives were very rude with a fake smile. I didn't get help I was told I was going to.

I was afraid to buzz for help, because i felt they didn't look like they wanted to help.

One of them even was making fun of me. After major surgery I was in horrible pain, but instead them helping me with my baby, I was told its my baby and I should take care myself.

I asked for someone to help me to lift something I couldn't and  was told that I could perfectly do that myself.

The biggest mistake of kettering hospital is not letting parents stay at night after a c section.

Very often there's not enough midwives at night to help all woman and babies and after the operation, then your not able even to stand up, still have to get up in horrible pain every two hours to feed and change your baby, getting no help. After buzzing you will get somebody to come after half an hour. Biggest mistake to leave woman alone after such an operation.....if Kettering hospital do care about mums and babies best health, please consider partners to stay over night to help.

To deliver my newborn was a nightmare to me, but no, not the pain was the worst but how i feel I was treated by midwives. some of them i feel thankful, some off them -have no idea how they can do such a job. I feel they don't deserve to be paid after how they treated me and maybe other mums.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Kettering General Hospital

Thank you very much for taking the time to feedback your recent experience of Kettering Maternity service. I am pleased to hear that you felt the care and approach for some Midwives was positive but disappointed that you did not feel this was reflective of all staff on Rowan ward.

It is our aim to try to tailor the care we provide to each individuals needs and if this was not fully achieved for you we are very sorry. We very much value the feedback we get and share it with all the staff in order to improve the service we provide. We will consider the ideas you have suggested to improve the service.

If you would like to talk to us further about any part of your care, please don’t hesitate to contact Kim Attley Rowan Ward Matron 01536 492916 or Polly Leigh Lead Midwife 01536 492902.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful