"Thrown out in blood stained pyjamas"

About: Manor Hospital

After having my baby I asked if I could go home to be told no I had to stay another night, then an hour later I was told I could leave but at this time I had no means of getting home so it was agreed I could stay until morning when someone could bring my partner to fetch me. At 7am I was woken (after only half an hour sleep) and asked to pack my things and get out the bed. I waited a while because I had not got a change of clothes. I was approached by staff several times and asked to get dressed and leave. I waited longer not wanting to leave in my pyjamas that had blood stains down the back and take my baby out into the cold. When it reached 9am a member of staff came and packed my things into a bag and told me they were moving me to a waiting area. I cried until I was picked up by my partner. I have never felt so embarrassed being walked through the corridor where other women and their partners were in blood stained clothing. I will never recommend this hospital for the maternity, and I worry if I ever need future treatment for anything and get taken here incase the rest of the hospital has such poor compassion and care for the patients. A change of staff is needed urgently in the maternity wards.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Manor Hospital

Thank you for your feedback and I apologise for your poor experience when you were in an in-patient in November last year. The type of experience you have described is not what we aspire to deliver and I am sorry that you left the hospital feeling quite upset. I fully understand why you would have felt embarrassed and that you were not given adequate time to arrange appropriate clothing in readiness for your discharge.


  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful