"Hard to get hold of"

About: Orsett Hospital

Last appointment very dissapointed clinic was packed and when I got in to see consultant I was in and out within a couple of minutes and felt like I wasn't being listened to then told my next appointment would be in a years time!

I told the doctor that meds were making me ill but told to just reduce dose and keep taking them, I am now taking nothing as I refuse to feel so ill, my hands are now very swollen and I'm in extreme pain so today I have had to ring hospital operator to put me through to rheumy nurses but after trying quite a few times I still can't get through to them, I find this unacceptable that I can't be seen for a year which is made worse by the fact that my best friend also has seronegstive RA with lower inflammatory markers than myself but is seen every 3 months and given appropriate treatment at Broomfields Hospital , really really dissapointed

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Orsett Hospital

Firstly may we apologise that you had cause to raise concerns about your treatment at Orsett Hospital and that our response to you at the time may not have appeared on this site. We hope that your concerns have been resolved, however if you would like to discuss anything further, please contact our Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) at pals@btuh.nhs.uk or on 01268-394440.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful