"Rescheduled Appointments"

About: Queen Elizabeth Hospital Birmingham

Had appointment for September 2015 to see a neurosurgeon

Tests arranged for end of September and early October

Followup appointment confirmed by letter for April 2016

Received letter in December 2015 to inform that my appointment had been rearranged for June 2016.

Called department and asked for reasons why and I was told that 'they' had been told to move all appointments by 2 months due to the consultant being out of the country. I was also told that as my appointment had been changed once it was very unlikely my appointment would be changed again.

To my disgust I received another letter on Saturday 23rd April to confirm that my appointment had been rescheduled for last the week in December 2016. The time from original appointment to the followup appointment is fifteen months.

When symptoms are getting worse and when a further issue as developed this is totally unacceptable. I have contacted PALS @ UHB and a letter as been sent to 10 Downing Street which I have had confirmation as been passed to the relevant department.

I am posting this review so the public are aware of potential problems they may face when visiting UHB.

More about:

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Queen Elizabeth Hospital Birmingham

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your experience under the Neurosurgery Department at the Queen Elizabeth Hospital Birmingham. We are very sorry to hear that you have encountered some problems with your follow-up appointment being re-arranged. We understand how frustrating this must be for you and can see that you have already contacted our PALS Department. We have been advised by PALS that your appointment has now been resolved.

May we take this opportunity to wish you well.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful