"Rude staff night maternity ward"

About: University Hospital Lewisham

Awful place... rude and ignorant nurses, only a handful of caring ones. Food staff are ignorant and barely acknowledge the patients. The nurses I saw left food for elderly people on the table even though they could not reach the food themselves. My mother has been in tears every morning since she has been in there. A few nurses are very kind but they are few and far between. There should be undercover patients sent in to see what goes on!!

A lady was calling to go to the toilet for an hour and was told to 'stop shouting'. A nurse was overheard saying 'these patients get on my nerves'.

Nobody wants to be in hospital, the least they deserve is some respect and compassion. Awful place.

I complained to PALS about several issues and I have to say that they did respond and dealt with them promptly but overall this hospital needs a complete review of how the staff treat vulnerable patients.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from University Hospital Lewisham

Thank you for your comments, we are very sad to hear that your mother’s experience was so negative.

As your posting is anonymous I cannot respond directly however, I believe that your comment is regarding an adult ward rather than maternity and concerns a patient that the Matron visited as well as PALS following a complaint.

We felt we had apologised and resolved some issues, if you do not feel that this is the case I am very happy for you to contact me via PALS.

Kind regards.

Sarah Carver, Matron for ED and RATU ward

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Recently read