"In many cases the patient is the expert on their own health"

About: Queen Mary's Hospital / Mental health care

(as the patient),

Around two years ago, ECT started with outstanding results. My improved health resulted in me finding my 1st paid job since 2007 and organised trips to USA, Germany and Holland to play in sports tournaments. My previous prolonged period of mental health problems would not have allowed this.

In brief my previous consultant of 4 years standing recommended further use of ECT a year later because of a dip after 8 months of excellent health from the course. Regrettably ECT that was organised was turned down. This took place after three doctors discussed my case. The most recent consideration of ECT by my new consultant required a 2nd opinion by a doctor who felt that ECT was not appropriate. I have no reason to question the doctor’s professionalism and care but he scrolled through my notes since Dec 2011 which was not to emphasise the positives of previous ECT.

What could have been better? To give greater recognition to my friends and family who were amazed about my transformation to my old self and to recognise that in many cases the patient is the expert on their own health whilst there are professional consultants who give opinion and guidance

How do I feel about my care?  Abandoned, not listened to.  I wrote a letter to a doctor. This has not been acknowledged or the courtesy of a reply, despite being at a very very low state. I now feel in a black hole with no future except to hope that changes to my medication might help. I think not. In addition, I feel that the bigger picture has not been considered i. e. The start of my poor mental health from being severely depressed, schizo-affective disorder and now bi polar.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Jane Healey, Patient Experience Lead, Governance, South West London and St George's Mental Health Trust

Dear stuarth,

My name is Jane and I am one of the Patient Experience Leads for the Trust. Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback on the treatment you have received and I am pleased to hear of the positive benefits you have obtained in the past from ECT.

I am sorry to learn that you are now feeling as though you have not been listened to and that you have not received any acknowledgement or response to the letter you have written to your doctor. If you would like this, and your other concerns, to be looked into as a formal complaint then please contact the Trust Patient Experience Department, either by telephone on 0203 513 6150 or by email to Complaints@swlstg-tr.nhs.uk

Kind regards

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful