"My opinion as a retired Registered General Nurse."

About: Arrowe Park Hospital

I am appalled by the way I was treated in A&E bay16 to my admission this year.I think it was either March or April . As an RGN retired, I know how to recognise good and bad practice.! I was treated with neither, empathy, dignity or respect. I witnessed a severe lack of disrespect and lack of care towards other patients and myself, or should be saying (inmates!!) also. I can elaborate further if required. The Nurse Coordinator should be ashamed of their team management. I would be more than willing to stand up in a court of law and swear to this as a practicing Christian. This really needs to be overviewed quickly and effectively. The nursing team spent a great deal of time at the computer station, laughing and joking and ignoring patients requests and needs. I complained, on many occasions to the nursing team but the bad practices did not improve. I know I was only admitted for a short period of time and the staff had awareness, that I was a qualified nurse and still am despite retirement. They appeared not to have any notion of good practice or ethics Even my Husband Mark was shocked by behaviour he observed and he is a lay person. I told a doctor what I was observing and they advised me to formally complain!! The whole structure and practice of nursing care on this unit are broken down! I would like to add that the medical care was totally excellent and I was impressed by their ethics. The doctors act in a professional ,caring manner. I was not fed and had to ask for food even. The unit was littered and the floor unswept at times. I wish this very negative review to be published and a prompt reply to be forwarded to me in writing as soon as possible. If it is not I will take matters further and attend court if required on consultation with my lawyer.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Arrowe Park Hospital

Thank you for speaking to Julia this evening. We are very sorry to hear about your experience at Arrowe Park Hospital. Wirral University Teaching Hospital NHS Foundation Trust is committed to the provision of high quality care for all patients, however we realise that there may be times when we do not always get things right.

As requested, Julia will contact you tomorrow to discuss your concerns further. However, if you need any assistance in the meantime please do not hesitate to contact the Patient Relations Team on freephone 0800 432 0251, email wih-tr.Patientrelations@nhs.net or in writing to the Patient Relations Team, Arrowe Park Hospital, Arrowe Park Road, Upton, Wirral, CH49 5PE. We can then discuss the best way to address you concerns.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful