"Treated appallingly"

About: University Dental Hospital

I have never in all my dealings with the NHS been so badly treated by one of its staff.

On arrival I was seen by a lovely dental nurse and post grad dental student, who were both kind and reassuring. I was then ask to return to the waiting room to be called to see the consultant. I waited a further 2 hours before being called.

I had made a round trip of 400 miles for this appointment being referred by my local NHS dental practice.

The consultant talked to the dental student as if I wasn't sitting there in the chair. I explained that I have a chronic illness that affects my eyes, mouth and muscles. The consultant was extremely rude saying numerous times that, in their words, 'it's something you are doing' that has caused the problem I have with my teeth. I explained that I ate a very healthy diet, that I didn't eat acidic fruit, drink fruit juice or fizzy drinks. But they kept repeating the same statement. They reduced me to tears, my husband who had accompanied me was horrified, but the consultant didn't care.

They told me that my local dental practice were no go and that I should change dentists. They said the treatment I needed would not be covered by the NHS and would cost approx £3000 to have done privately. They described it as an investment. I explained that I have been unable to work for the last 5 years because of a chronic illness and that I don't receive any benefits whatsoever and had no savings or way of finding my treatment.

I left in tears, how can this treatment of patients be acceptable.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Patient Experience Team, Central Manchester University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

On behalf of the University Dental Hospital of Manchester we would like to apologise for the unacceptable level of service you have received. We strive to provide the very best care and experience for all our patients and we apologise that on this occasion we have fallen below our usually high standards. Unfortunately as we do not have any patient details we am unable to look further into why you experienced these problems during your care at the University Dental Hospital Manchester. If you would like further information on this please contact our PALS department at pals.cmft.nhs.uk or on 0161 276 8686 and we would be happy to look into this for you.