"Waste of Time"

I attended the Physiotherapy Dept in January for an assessment for a shoulder problem.I had to go back for a second time begining February for yet another assessment this time with the person I should have seen originally who done exactly the same as the student I had seen previously. I was told I need to be referred to a shoulder specialist and that they would do this and I would hear quite quickly. Two months later I still hadn't heard only to be told when I rang that no referral had been done. I was told the message would be passed on but having rang again 8 days later still nothing has been done. Still waiting for referral and still in the same amount of pain. Appalling level of service

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Ann Rice, Head of Patient Insight & Professional Leadership, Solent NHS Trust We have made a change

We are very sorry to hear that your experience of our service has not been good and hope that since you posted this message that you have received the referral you were waiting for. However, if this is not the case please would you consider contacting us so that we can investigate this for you. We can be contacted via our PALS team either by phoning 0800 013 2319 or emailing snhs.solentfeedback@nhs.net

We do support student training within our service and the usual practice is to check with patients that they are agreeable to being seen by a student whose practice is under the supervision of a qualified member of staff. When a patient needs to be referred on to a specialist team, such as you describe, the timeframe should be approximately 2 weeks. However, we apologise that this was not your experience and hope you will contact us so that we can look into this further.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful