"I was very scared but I am grateful to the staff"

About: Victoria Hospital / General Medicine

(as the patient),

I went down to the Victoria Hospital, after feeling unwell. The doctor was very good, he said I had symptoms of type 1 diabetes. I felt a lot of pain, restless, knew something wasn't right.

A staff member in admissions was very rude. I called them a few good times, but I found them very unhelpful. I was very scared, vomiting etc. I eventually collapsed on the floor unconscious, then woke up in intensive care. It turned out I had DKA, was in a coma etc. I can write a novel. I couldn't breathe and all I was told was to calm down, I'm having a panic attack. I was very ill but I felt like a nuisance.

When I was in there, I was critical after having undiagnosed type 1 diabetes. I was on a ventilator as well, double pneumonia and 2 strokes. It was touch and go. My family were contacted and they told me the care I had was outstanding. I would like to say how grateful I am to the staff, they are professional, empathetic, lovely human beings .Thank you. A big thank to them all.

Also ward 42 nurse and doctor were brilliant. You always got a laugh. They made you feel good about yourself, wonderful people. Also the physiotherapists that got me walking etc would not give up on me.

Thank you

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Louise Ewing, Patient Relations Manager, NHS Fife

picture of Louise Ewing

Dear Kassie

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent health care experience. It is no wonder you felt scared! I was pleased to hear of the progress you have made and pleased to hear you comment positively about the care you received in the Intensive Care Unit and Ward 42.. I will make sure your comments are passed on so that staff are aware of your positive feedback.

It was very disappointing to hear of the way you were treated when you first attended hospital, what you describe is not what we want for patients. This must have been a very frightening time for you; a time when we would expect staff to be caring and compassionate in their approach. I would welcome the opportunity to speak to you a bit more about your experience as I am keen to share your feedback with the appropriate staff so that they have an opportunity to think about the impact of their actions/behaviours. Please consdier giving me a call on 01592 648069.

In the meantime, thank you once again for taking the time to share on Patient Opinion, it is so important that we hear directly from people about their experience of health care.


Louise Ewing

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Update posted by Kassie (the patient)

Thank you for taking the time to read my story,I felt you really understood and I appreciate it.

I told my story because life is precious. I don't want the same negative situation,in admissions to happen to any one else when they are in pain etc.

Response from Louise Ewing, Patient Relations Manager, NHS Fife

picture of Louise Ewing

Thanks for getting back to me Kassie. I have passed this on.



  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful