"Long waits at huddersfield Contraception and Sexual health centre"

About: Locala Community Partnerships CIC / Kirklees Sexual Health

(as the patient),

Visit to Huddersfield Contraception and Sexual health centre (princess royal health centre). As I stepped into the clinic, the lady at the reception greeted me by saying, take a seat if you have time to waste; As I needed the service I decided to wait and I filled in a form with my details and handed it back to the lady at reception.

There is very limited parking outside and I expected to be seen within the hour, which is the maximum parking time.

Unfortunately, I must have had to wait for up to 2 hours before I was eventually seen by a health care assistant, who measured my blood pressure, weight and height and finally asked me to return to the waiting room for an appointment with a nurse. I thought it was reasonable to ask if I would actually get what I came for today and was told NO the Nurse was just conducting an assessment appointment.

I had another 1 hour wait before seeing a nurse, who repeated a lot of the questions already asked by the healthcare assistant, plus a few others which she read off the vdu screen (could this not have been done by the health care assistant to save time? ). Finally I felt I had reached the end of the journey, when the Nurse handed me a slip asking me to go back to reception to book a second appointment with the receptionist, I felt relief, at least the end was in sight!

But No, on reaching the unmanned reception desk, I was told by the receptionist, to go away and to call back at the end of next week because there were no appointments left on the screen. How heartless! After all that waiting!

What a terrible service! This seems like a way to stop people getting sexual health treatment.

More about:
Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Sarah True, Customer Engagement Manager, Locala Community Partnerships

Dear Almost Pregnant De Not

I would like to apologise that you had such a disappointing experience within our Sexual Health service. Firstly, the way you were treated at reception was totally unacceptable and we will be looking to the matter immediately. I am also sorry that you were not told straight away what the situation was within the clinic at the time, had to see numerous people and left without having a solution in place. That should not have happened.

We are in the process of merging our contraception and sexual health services and this has led to longer waiting times within our clinics. We are very sorry for the inconvenience caused and do expect this to be a short term issue.

Please could you call this number to arrange an appointment: 030 3330 9981.

Once again I apologise that you had such a disappointing experience.



  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful