"the doctors were good treatded ..."

About: Lister Hospital

(as the patient),

What I liked

the doctors were good treatded me well m ost of the time the nurse were good at sorting out problems

What could be improved

the lifts. the general orginastion of the place including who does the the theater lists. Food is terrible so is the labeling breakfast was the worst ceral and a bread roll with Jam! it looks terrible to. The wards need better cleaning the cleaners tended to clean around things including bed spaces. Not all the toilets on the wards can a wheelchair get into this is on the North side the South side you can. My notes got lost twice in 3 weeks. I had a very negitive stay as an inpatient.

More about:

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Lister Hospital

Thank you for your feedback and we're sorry to hear that your experience at the Lister overall was a negative one - because that is not what we set out to do. We do hope that you will consider making a formal complaint - this can be sent by e-mail to patcomplaints.enh-tr@nhs.net if that's easier for you. This is because you have raised important issues that need to be investigated, so that you get formal responses - and where our care had fallen below where it should, then an apology.

In the meantime, we thought we would comment on some of the issues you raised:

1) The lifts - these are used 24 hours a day, every day of the year and we recognise that they need upgrading - a process that will be happening soon as part of the hospital's overall redevelopment.

2) Catering - our catering team prides themselves on the standard of food they provide to patients, the vast majority of which is cooked from fresh ingredients in the Lister's own conditions. But this is a mass catering service and problems can arise, which is why they value feedback from staff and patients, especially while the latter are still in hospital. Without this feedback, it is very hard for them to put things right - and impossible when someone has left altogether.

3) Wheelchair access - the Lister was built nearly 40 years ago and there are access issues, which we are tackling. The major change will happen when the main tower block gets refurbished as part of the Lister's planned redevelopment - which has started already and is due to be completed by the end of 2013.

4) Cleaning - our cleaners are audited on the quality of their work and what you described was not acceptable, although numerous recent audits (carried out internal and external teams) demonstrate that cleaning standards are high and things like infection rates dropping very rapidly indeed - we have some of the lowest MRSA and C. difficile infection rates in Eastern England now. But should patients observe cleaners taking short cuts, then please let our nursing staff know so that they can deal with it quickly.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful