"Not a Happy Teddy!"

About: Sunderland Royal Hospital

I was an inpatient in July 2015 having a major operation.

One of my kidneys had to be removed through cancer.

The nursing staff were very good, the surgeon and their staff were excellent and treated us patients like human beings.

The ward was dirty, my bed was changed only once in 5 days.

My table was only cleaned when my daughter visited and she cleaned everyone's table in the ward.

The washing/shower facilities were disgusting and I reported this to the nurse, the nurse's reply was to get the cleaners up.

This facility would have been closed until cleaned - it was not.

Now I know how so many infections are contracted in hospital.

Sorry my review is not good but it is honest.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Sunderland Royal Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on the NHS Choices website.

We were pleased to read that the staff on the ward looked after you well however am concerned to read about the standard of cleanliness on the ward at the time.

We would like to discuss this further with you and would be grateful if you could contact the Help and Advice Service using the details below in order that more information can be obtained:

Email: Helpandadviceservice@chsft.nhs.uk

Telephone: 0191 569 9855 or freephone 08005876513

Opening times: Monday – Friday 8 am – 5pm

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful