"No staff co operation, complete patient..."

About: Warwick Hospital


I have just had today a very disapointing experience at Warwick Hospital :

My 16 months old boy has a plaster on the lower leg since last Sunday when we brought him at A&E. We were that day given an appointment at the fracture clinic for today, in order to get a new X ray and to decide whether the plaster was to be removed or a new one, more serious was needed.

So here we came this morning, my son and I (6 months pregnant), on time for the appointment. We have waited 1,5 hour to hear in the end a doctor saying : Oh, he’ll keep the plaster one more week, and you’ll come for a new X Ray.

There has been, this morning, no XRay, no inspection, NOT EVEN A LOOK at my boy’s leg !

When I’ve wondered why I had been asked to come back, I was said the appointment has been taken by A&E, and they do not follow the same rules as the Fracture Clinic.

Do you think they would have considered giving me a call to tell this ?

I have just never seen such disrespect for patient.

By the way, it is not their issue, but my do other boys are sick today, could not go to school, so I had to get them looked after by a babysitter while I was at hospital. Well, it just adds to the disappointment !

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Warwick Hospital

I am very sorry to hear about your experience. What you have described is very frustrating and we would like the opportunity to investigate why it happened and ensure the process is improved. In order to do this though we will require further details, therefore please could you contact our patient experience team on 01926 600 054 so we can look into it.

Kind Regards,

Helen Lancaster, Director of Nursing

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful