"Avoid Blackburn A and E"

About: Royal Blackburn Hospital

Came into A and E with my Mum in an ambulance. Was on a and e for nearly 7 hrs. My Mum has Kidney Disease and Dementia. When after no Doctor or nurse had been to check on my Mum for nearly 3 hrs I went to ask for an update.

I got attitude from the staff member who refused to give me their full name or how to complain. They then walked away. Other staff also refused to give me details of the individual concerned (even though they agreed they were out of order).

Next time if me or a family member are ill we will suffer at home rather than come to Blackburn Hospital.

Start saving for private care. NHS is a no go in Blackburn

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Royal Blackburn Hospital

Thank you for your feedback regarding your Mums experience in A&E at Royal Blackburn Hospital and thank you for taking to the time to do so.

I am very sorry to hear that you were not updated regarding your Mums care and that you were not given the information you requested.

We take all comments very seriously and I have forwarded them to the Matron for the area who will share with the team.

If you would like me to investigate this further, you can contact me (Helen Ritchie) on 01254 734471 or email me at helen.ritchie@elht.nhs.uk to provide some more information.

If you would like to share your experience in confidence with an independent organisation please contact Healthwatch BwD on 01254 504985 or info@healthwatchblackburnwithdarwen.co.uk

Or if you prefer you can discuss further any concerns you may have about our services with our East Lancashire Hospitals Trust Customer Relations team on 01254 733700 or complaints@elht.nhs.uk who can advise you of your options in raising these concerns further.

Apologies again and thank you

Helen Ritchie, Senior Patient Experience Facilitator.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful