"Absolutely disgraceful"

About: Darlington Memorial Hospital

I have worked in HSC for years and I am disgusted at the treatment my partners Grandmother is receiving here. We arrived at 4pm and she was cold so I assisted her in putting her dressing gown on. I noticed that the bandage in her leg required changing and the nurse was asked at 4-15. We left at 7pm and it hadn't been changed. There was also needles in her arms where fluids had been given and by the nurses own admission had been in too long and needed to be removed. They were still there at 7pm when we left. No infection control was carried out by the nursing staff when medication was administered, I observed the nurse giving 2 patients clexin injections and this was due to the curtains not being closed around their beds. Where was the dignified care for these people? I knew everything going on in the room as confidentiality was not maintained at all.

Now I know people are busy, however, the nurse who was supposed to be changing grans dressing or removing the cannulas was walking up and down the ward and sat on their bottom not doing their job. Gran has a 'small' pressure sore that isn't dressed as she is on a nimbus mattress even though she has slept in a chair for 2 days as she can't get comfortable in the bed and no wonder the amount of ridges in it! A dressing needs to be in place or at least a pressure reliving cushion placed in the chair, but nothing was given or offered. I'm dismayed at the 'care' being provided and I pray she can come home soon to be cared for appropriately and effectively. A formal complaint will be going in once she is home.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Darlington Memorial Hospital

Dear Pamela

Thank you for providing feedback on your Grandmother's recent experience in Darlington Memorial Hospital.

I am very sorry to hear that you were unhappy with the care she received and you did mention you would be making a formal complaint once she was home.

If you wish to do that you can either send a written letter by post or you can send it to us via email.

Our email address is cdda-tr.patientexperiencecddft@nhs.net and our postal address is

Patient Experience Team

Appleton House

Lanchester Road



If you do decide to contact us, could you please make us aware that you have left comments on the NHS Choices website.

The Trust is grateful for all feedback, positive or negative, as it means we can better understand what is important to our patients.

Thank you for leaving your comments on NHS Choices.

Patient Experience Team

County Durham and Darlington NHS Foundation Trust

Tel: 0800 7835774

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful