"Second review still waiting after email..."

About: Northumbria Specialist Emergency Care Hospital

I am not surprised that my first review has not been posted must be sitting with the pain medication that I didn't get after my thyroid surgery. I had come round from the surgery in pain after 45 mins the pain was under control heading for ward 3 got off trolley and into bed came round with 2 paracetamol and one naproxen which the nurse halfed for me about 3 hours after l left recovery managed to take them with difficulty and was told they were coming back with some morphinen as neck was sore at this point still waiting for it !! At ten o'clock the nightshift came round with two codrydamol I was in agony by this stage neck felt like it was stiffening up and I couldn't move or swallow as I was in so much pain I wasn't written up for any so they left me to chew them it took a while but was desperate by then and beginning to sweat it was the longest night I have ever spent they checked my BP at two in the morning I had to sit up all night as bed was to far back and I didn't know how to change it and came back and asked if I was drowsy from operation no such luck and turned lights out at four o'clock in the morning big help.

They did ask if i wanted some breakfast dont know how they thourght i would be eating it.Eventually the day staff came on and gave me some oramorph which made it more comfortable and some codine and my own pain medication but only after I told them I was discharging myself as I could chew my own pain medication at home . No problem with the actual surgery but aftercare if that's the right word terrible if I need any medical treatment I will be going to Newcastle rvi

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Northumbria Specialist Emergency Care Hospital

Dear Sir/Madam,

Firstly apologies for the fact that you have waited far longer for a response than we would like. I unfortunately don’t know the reasons why your first review wasn’t published – NHS Choices take responsibility for moderating all responses including replies they receive from organisations.

My understanding is that they only take the decision not to publish a response if they have concerns with regards to the accuracy of the content or that it may cause unnecessary offence ?

I am glad I have the opportunity to respond to you now. I do understand how important it is that patients are given the opportunity to recover well following surgery, so I am deeply sorry to read that your experience with us has been such an uncomfortable one.

Effective and prompt pain management is a fundamental part of quality care -

I am truly sorry this was not the case for you. As a trust we speak to thousands of patients every month to track how well we do this and its so disappointing to read how poor your experience was including after care. I would like to look into this for you to find out what happened. Please email me with your details, my email is Annie.Laverty@nhct.nhs.uk. Please also let me know if you would prefer to have the issues you raise investigated formally as part of our complaint process ?

With all best wishes and apologies again for failing to provide you with the high standards you have a right to expect.

Kind regards,


Annie Laverty – Director of Patient Experience