"unsatisfactory treatment"

I was recently taken to A&E as I had thoughts of self harm, the police in attendance refused to let me go to the toilet for 6 hours and refused to ask staff at the hospital for a drink of water or a sandwich for me. The nurse then said that we needed to go to oleaster as I would be seen quicker.. They never explained who i was to see or why. Once at Oleaster, the mental health team did not explain why they were doing a mental health assessment or that I had to agree to the assessment as I have the right to refuse one. I did the assessment anyway and they said they would make me an appointment with chapman road.. They made no appointment whatsoever and did nothing to help me.. The next time I need help, I won't even bother mentioning it, it's a waste of time space and energy.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Oleaster Centre

We are sorry to hear you have had a such difficult experience when you were feeling so unwell. Unfortunately we do not manage the police or the staff who work within the A&E department .Staff should have clearly explained to you why you were been taken to the Oleaster and it is not acceptable for you to have no explanation. We are concerned that you were told you would have an appointment made at Chapman Rd and this has not happened. As we do not have your details we are unable to check as to why no appointment was made at Chapman Rd for you and who should have made the referral for you. If you wish to pursue further action on your concerns it would be helpful to have your details and we can respond accurately to you so please make contact with our PALS service on Freephone 0800 953 0045.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful