"Not even worthy of a single star!"

About: Leeds General Infirmary

The doctor we saw after a 4 hour wait said there was nothing to treat. Whereas the GP who referred just one week prior said it was one of the worst cases they had seen and they had seen their fair share during their year of training in the Leeds LGI ENT department.

Yes, it’s great to get an appointment so soon, but why have we not had a follow up appointment yet? We were told two months, but it’s now three months. So I will have to use/waste my GP’s time to get a re-referral – not a great use of NHS resources. Not to mention the cream that we needed that the GP could not prescribe and could only be prescribed by the hospital. So in the end we had to get the cream from the hospital consultant, a cream that costs a fraction of the price of the consultant’s time.

Do I mention the time lost from education and the activities and exercise and disappointment caused by all this in addition to the unecessary waste of NHS resources?

It is obvious how hard NHS staff work, with so little logic to the organisation of the limited resources. So whilst this is an honest review - it is not aimed at staff – this is aimed at the system. Had the doctor just run out of time to look at the problem properly?

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Leeds Teaching Hospitals

Dear Anonymous,

Thank you for taking the time out to write to us regarding your experience. I was very sorry to read of the poor experience you feel you had whilst in our care and I apologize that we did not deliver care that met your expectations.

Unfortunately as you have not provided any demographic information we are unable to investigate your concerns therefore, I would ask that you contact the Trust’s Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) so we can take this information for you and arrange for your concerns to be fully investigated.

Please call our Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) on 0113 2066261 or alternatively email patientexperience.leedsth@nhs.net

Thank you for taking the time to write to us.

With kind regards
Senior Nurse
Patient Experience

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Recently read