"A and E was open, but proved to ..."

About: Queen Elizabeth I I Hospital (Welwyn Garden City)

(as a relative),

What I liked

A and E was open, but proved to be the only area of the hospital capable of taking appropriate action

What could be improved

My husband lay in a filthy bed for 2 days with pneumonia on a mixed ward (faeces streaks on metal bedstead).

He was discharged after 2 days when I had wanted him transferred to a private hospital for ongoing care - this didn't happen despite numerous requests to the consultant to do this, under the instruction of our private healthcare provider.

Anything else?

My husbands recovery was impeeded by the lack of approrpiate care and early discharge. In hindsight I should have taken my very poorly husband to any other hospital than QE II at Welwyn - its time this facility was overhauled in every aspect or removed all together from the tax payer burdening pocket

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Queen Elizabeth I I Hospital

You are clearly unhappy with what happened with your husband at the QEII and would encourage you to make a formal complaint, if you have not done so already, so that the important matters that you have raised are investigated thoroughly. You can do this by forwarding your complaint to: patcomplaints.enh-tr@nhs.net

Just so you are aware, we have no wards at the QEII that are mixed other than our emergency department, critical care area and assessment units. It may well have been that your husband was on an assessment unit, which are facilities that our clinicians use to make decisions about future treatment options, including their discharge in to the care of others.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful