"Maternity Delivery Unit"

About: St James's University Hospital

Midwifes that were taking care of me they were lovely, very friendly and kind. I was there since 1st Feb 12am until 2nd Feb 7pm.

I was 12 days over my term, and they broke my water at 2pm on 1st February. I was 1 cm dilated and the midwife tried to broke my water and failed, then the midwife called the doctor to do it. Was very difficult for the doctor too, but they did it. I received epidural straight away and after I started receive Oxycontin to help me dilate. My baby was very active and big, but I didn't manage to dilate to 10 cm until the next day 2pm. They knew the baby is very big, but they let me wait. I started pushing at 3pm for 2 hours until 5pm, but without success. The doctor came and tell me the only option is forceps despite I had on my book that I refuse the forceps.I was very scared and anxious about this procedure because of other mom bad experience. Anyway the doctor said that a c-section at this point it will just be more complicate than the forceps. After a very difficult time I decided that I accept the forceps.After 30 hours in labor and after a difficult and traumatic time my baby was there in about 5 min. She weighted 4.880kg and 38 head circumference.

My complain is that they knew the baby is very big and they waited 30 hours to let me dilate and they didn't offer me a c-section. For a baby over 4.500kg is required a c-section. I have lost 1.500 l of blood and I couldn't feel my leg for 2 days. I think they put me and my baby in danger, just to keep it 'natural'.

I had a very difficult time afterwards, i couldn't sleep for 1 week more than one hour per day because every time I closed my eyes I just remember that difficult time. Even now When I am in the bath I remember everything.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Leeds Teaching Hospitals

Dear Joanna,

Thank you for taking the time to write to us.

I am very sorry to read that you had such a distressing time whilst in our care.

I would very much welcome the opportunity to investigate this matter however, as I do not have any demographic details for you I am unable to take this forward at this point.

I have passed your post onto the Matron and Head of Nursing for Obstetrics so that they are aware of your experience.

I would ask that you contact our Trust’s Patient Advise and Liaison Service (PALS). This would enable us to look into the matters you have raised more thoroughly and also to see if there are any lessons that we could learn from your experience.

Please call our Patient Advise and Liaison Service (PALS) on 0113 206 6261 or alternatively email patientexperience.leedsth@nhs.net

With kind regards


Senior Nurse

Patient Experience

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful