"Outpatient visit"

About: Arrowe Park Hospital

Visited to receive test results from consultant. Had been requested to bring urine sample with me - actually not required by anyone - waste of time.

Checked in by a receptionist who appeared to have nothing else to do apart from identifying my clinical notes pack and putting it aside for reference.

Whilst waiting was taken to be weighed. This required two nurses, one to look at the scale, one to write down what they were told. I cannot see why this needed to be done, it was irrelevant to the purpose of my visit.

Consultant accompanied by a third nurse whose only purpose appeared to be to act as a servant for the consultant as they had no relevance to my visit.

Given staffing issues in the NHS, this seems to be a poor use of staff resources and I cannot see how this could be justified in an efficient organisatin.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Arrowe Park Hospital

We are very sorry to hear about the experience you had when you attended Arrowe Park Hospital.

We have recorded your comments, however, we are unclear from your comments about what department or clinic you attended. If you would like to provide us with this detail, we can share your comments with the relevant staff or investigate your concerns in more detail. If you would like us to do so, please contact the Patient Relations team on 0151 604 7660, email wih-tr.Patientrelations@nhs.net or in writing to Patient Relations team, Arrowe Park Hospital, Arrowe Park Road, Upton, Wirral, CH49 5PE.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful