"Pain management cancellation."

About: Leicester General Hospital

I have just returned home after a wasted few hours in day case one. I was checked in by very pleasant and professional young nurses, only to be told the the procedure was cancelled.Apparently the doctor who was scheduled to do this procedure had called in sick so we were all sent home with another date in the near future. I know you probably have a staff shortage but I would have thought you'd have a standby crew. I don't know the history of the other patients, but I am in a great deal of pain otherwise I wouldn't be in Pain Management. All my pain is due to a botched hip replacement.,three and a half years ago.

The last time I was at LGH I saw the groups of young doctors on strike. How dare they when you have situations like today, shame on you. What happened to the Hypocratit Oath.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Leicester General Hospital

Dear reviewer, thank you for the review you left for Pain Management.

We are very sorry that your operation was cancelled however when human factors ie illness occur this can lead to factors beyond that department's control, but we do understand your frustration.

If you would contact Linda Chesterton, Service Manager on Tel. 0116 2584728, email Linda.chesterton@uhl-tr.nhs.uk with your name, address and hospital number she will advise and help you with regards to your next appointment.

We hope on contacting Linda your next appointment goes smoothly.

Kind regards, Communications Team, Leicester's Hospitals.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful