"Waiting time at Opthalmology Clinic"

About: Crosshouse Hospital / Ophthalmology

(as the patient),

I have recently finished a course of Eyelea Injections to help my Wet Macular Degeneration problems. I received a letter stating that an appointment had been made for me at Dr Varikkara' s Opthalmic Clinic. This was set for 10. 15am yesterday.

I duly arrived before 10 am and waited whilst another patient  insisted in an aggressive way I felt that their appointment for 14. 15 was not suitable and demanded it be changed to the morning clinic. The patient suggested that 10. 15 would be suitable. The patient was asked to sit in the waiting area whilst a doctor was consulted and the patient was seen.

I was called by a nurse just after 10. 15 and prepped for my eye examination. Since it took 20 minutes for the eye drops to become effective I was told that I would be seen in 30 to 45 minutes.

The patient who demanded his appointment be changed was seen and left just after 11am. By 12 noon I had not been called so approached the reception desk to ask how long it would be before I was seen by a doctor. I felt I was given short shrift. I was told to sit down and that I was now on the Registrars list. There were still four patients in front of me.

By 1pm I had begun to be affected by a Diabetic Hypo and took what action I could. I was now experiencing headaches, dizziness, blurred vision and violent mood swings. At 1. 15, three hours after my supposed appointment I again approached the reception desk which was unmanned. I waited until someone attended to me. I indicated that I was feeling seriously unwell, was suffering from a diabetic hypo and that I was not willing to wait for the other patients to be seen before me. I had no option but to cancel my appointment ( three hours of waiting so far) and asked for it to be rearranged. The person on the desk did not ask if I was all right or show any interest in me.

I had to be helped out of the hospital and was taken home where I spent the next eight hours trying to balance my blood sugars. This morning I cannot see anything other than blurred images. I still have headaches, All the injections I have been given seem to have been wasted. I am to all intents and purposes blind. I cannot read a book, watch television or use a computer screen,

I do not know why I was left for THREE hours without being seen by a doctor. No explanations were offered for the delays. The people with afternoon appointments were arriving and a man had been seen without an appointment whilst I was ignored.

The "customer" service at the desk was sadly lacking. I wish to register a complaint and await your reply before I consider further action.. I am left without vision and am not enjoying the fact. I refuse to believe that there was a three hour delay in seeing patients after being prepped for my eye examination.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Kate MacDonald, Business Manager, Nurse Directorate, NHS Ayrshire and Arran, NHS Ayrshire and Arran

picture of Kate MacDonald

Dear oboab

I was so sorry to hear about your experience at the Opthalmic Clinic this week.

You have said that you wish to register a complaint; can I please ask that you contact my colleague Lesley Arthur in our Customer Care Team on 01292 513003 or email Lesley.Arthur@aapct.scot.nhs.uk, who will be able to guide and support you through the options available.

Kind regards

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful