"Previous excellent experience, now disappointed"

About: Chesterfield Royal Hospital

I'd recently been sent for an MRI by a doctor in the Eye Department, and am currently awaiting the results. Unsure as to whether I should make an appointment or if the hospital will contact me (as I had been told both by two different members of staff), I decided to call to get some clarification.

I spoke to a member of staff in the Eye Department reception, who was polite and put me straight through to the secretary. This "secretary", who didn't offer up their name, has zero professionalism, zero people skills, was unhelpful, dismissive and downright rude.

The conversation I had went as follows:

"I was hoping you could help me, I had an MRI on x date and was wondering if I am supposed to make an appointment for the results or if the doctor will get in touch with me"

"Well, it depends. You'll either discuss it at your next appointment or someone will get in touch"

"My next appointment isn't until June, which seems a bit far away to wait for an MRI result"

"Well then someone will probably get in touch with you"

"Could you give me some idea when that would be please?"


That was it. No. Followed by silence.

I waited a few moments to see if they would add something further, such as "it usually take x amount of time" or "if you haven't heard by x date, then please call back". But that was all they said. No.

After the awkward silence, I said "Thank you" and hung up.

This is completely unacceptable. When waiting for something as important as MRI results, I would not expect to be 'chinned off' by a member of staff who clearly couldn’t be bothered having to take this call. It may not have been important to them, but it is important to me. This member of staff could do with learning some basic customer service skills, not just because they are dealing with members of the public but more importantly that the people are patients !!

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Chesterfield Royal Hospital

I'm really sorry to read your post and how you describe being treated by a member of staff on the telephone.

This isn't how we'd want any patient to feel and does not meet our Proud to CARE values and expectations.

I'm really sorry you were met with a lack of help and advice.

If you are able to contact our Assistance & Complaints Service they will support you in finding out details about a follow-up.

They are on 01246 512640 or you can drop me a line with your name, date of birth and address/contact number to sarah.turner-saint@nhs.net and I will make sure you get the information you asked for.

On the positive side I am pleased the reception in the Eye Centre was polite when you initially made contact.

Kind regards Sarah Turner-Saint, head of communications

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful