"A nightmare in A&E !"

About: Conquest Hospital

Paramedics brought me to hospital around 5.45 with a bleeding and seriously injured toe . I had also hurt my head but for some reason they didn't think it was of any concern although I assured them it was painful . I waited in absolute agony for around 2 hours to see a nurse , and then a further 2 hours to see a doctor who frankly didn't seem to know if they were coming or going . Following a quick chat the doctor proceeded to examine my toe and informed me they would have to remove the nail . During the procedure there was a knock on the door and the doctor was told they shouldn't even be in the room to which the doctor replied they wouldn't be long . The whole thing was really slapdash and at one point whilst dressing the open cut , which the doctor said was at risk of infection the doctor wasn't even wearing gloves on both hands , I did mention it to the doctor and they said they had cleaned their hands . I asked if I was going to have an X-ray and the doctor said no they don't think I needed it . However upon finishing the doctor changed their mind and sent me back to wait room for X-ray. The doctor told me i would need antibiotics and a tetanus injection , & some spare dressings .

By this time it was 10.30 and I had not been offered any painkillers which I found unbelievable . Following the X-ray I was asked to wait a 3rd time in the waiting room and around 11.45 the doctor came back and gave me the antibiotics and discharged me . My mother in law then said well we haven't even had the results - to which the doctor replied " oh yer its definatly broken " I had to call the doctor back to remind them I was supposed to have spare dressings ( the wound had already started to bleed ) & the tetanus . The doctor told me to follow them into the A&E ward where they frantically searched in various places for some dressings . The doctor said they would have to find a place to sneak me into for the tetanus , I can only imagine they were needed elsewhere . The doctor ushered me behind a curtain and I heard them asking a student nurse if they wanted to have a go at doing it . I was quite annoyed at this , because I really wasn't in the mood for being messed about with at this point . The student nurse said they would rather not and the doctor went ahead with it . The doctor was then waving the needle around shouting where's there a sharps box which I found so unprofessional . I left the hospital around midnight . I want to emphasise the fact

I was left for hours in real bad pain with no pain relief , which was extremely distressing . I would also like to add that after holding it in for as long as I could I hobbled to the toilet with my left foot bare apart from a blood soaked bandage , to find it absolutely filthy . I expected it to be bad because it always is in that place , but it had blood all over the door and handle . Which made it really award not to touch whilst hopping on one foot . The whole experience was awful , & it made me loose a lot of faith in the doctor and the NHS as a whole .

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Conquest Hospital

We are deeply concerned to read about your poor experience in the A&E department at the Conquest Hospital and we're saddened that this has resulted in you losing faith in our service. Although we can’t change what happened, we would like the opportunity to speak with you, so that we can apologise in person, and gather more information which will enable us to take appropriate action to investigate the issues you raise.

Please be assured that we take your posting very seriously.

As a Trust it's always our goal to provide high quality care, however, it's clear that this was not what you personally experienced, and for this we are sorry.

If you are willing to discuss what happened with the General Manager for Urgent care, they can be contacted through our Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) on 01424 758090, or if you prefer, we can contact you if you send your details by email to: esh-tr.PALSH@nhs.net.

We sincerely hope to hear from you.

In the meantime, we have shared your posting with senior management staff within the A&E Department.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful