"Birth of fifth Grandchild"

About: Northumbria Specialist Emergency Care Hospital

I would not use this maternity unit again - my fifth Grandchild's birth - a planned caesarean was put off and put off for hours not because the theatre was needed for urgent care because my daughters notes were missing.

Hygiene on the unit was poor with blood and urine spillage not cleaned up and a used catheter left lying for hours.

Staff made it clear they were in rotten mood and tired all except one who tried to be pro-active in patient care the others should have had a do not disturb sign stuck on their backs as they ignore the phone and patient buzzers, their attitude was abysmal.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Northumbria Specialist Emergency Care Hospital

Dear Sir/Madam,

Please let me apologise for the fact that you have waited far longer for a response than I would have liked.

I am very sorry that you have had such a poor experience on the maternity unit. It is also very worrying to hear you describe both staff behaviours and levels of cleanliness that are completely unacceptable. It is not the standard of care and compassion that we would expect to find in our hospitals. It is very important to us that we look into your concerns. We do take them seriously and want to act immediately to address any reasons for the shortfall in care. Please work with us on this by getting your daughters permission to share more information about her experience – at the moment an anonymous post prevents us from taking any appropriate action.

I would be grateful if you could contact me at annie.laverty@nhct.nhs.uk - I would like to ask a senior clinical member of the maternity team to also conduct a review of exactly what went wrong.

Despite your disappointing experience, I do hope you are enjoying some precious time with your new grandchild & that your daughter is also doing well.

Kind regards,


Annie Laverty – Director of Patient Experience