About: Countess Of Chester Hospital

I was due for surgery on the 26/1/16, I arrived at 07.30 on time was left in a waiting area till 9am. I was taken to have bloods cross matched sign paperwork had my bracelet on and ring taped on. All systems go said the anaestathist. Within 5 minutes of this conversation my op was cancelled. The person was very nice but it was little consolation as I had to wait for my wife to drive from Manchester to pick me up.

The next day I was given the 22/2/16, again I arrived on time and again just before 10am the same nice person told me my op was cancelled.

This is a very poor situation and was told no beds but on my arrival there was 2 beds available. How many times must my employer (who is growing ever impatient with me) move their resources around to fit in with your poor efforts. I am aware of the bed blocking and other problems, I don't blame the nurses and doctors. I do however hold the management of this hospital in contempt and would like a proper explanation from a person higher up than the poor member of staff that had to suffer a barrage of verbal abuse from some people less patient than myself.

If you're truly at crisis, then close the doors, stop letting people like myself to be more anxious than needs be. Close the doors and send us somewhere that can meet ours needs and lessen the financial issues along with the issues at work where I am barely holding onto my position.

I probably won't see this review posted but I live in hope.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Countess Of Chester Hospital

Dear Mr Owens

Thank you for your message.

We are sorry to learn that your surgery has been postponed and understand that this is an extremely difficult time for you.

The hospital is currently experiencing significantly higher than usual emergency admissions and this is why your surgery has had to be postponed.

Unfortunately we cannot turn emergency patients away and although we are do everything possible to avoid postponing surgery, I wish to apologise that your surgery has been postponed twice recently.

I wish to assure you that staff are working to reschedule your surgery and I hope that you will receive a new date shortly.

If you have any queries, or would like to discuss your situation in more detail, please contact the Patient Advice and Liaison (PALS) Service on Freephone 0800 195 1241 and select option 2.

A member of the PALS team will be happy to help you and provide you with further information.

Yours sincerely

The Patient Experience Team

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful