"Very disappointing"

About: Tameside General Hospital

I attended A&E with my son and he was given a rapid access referral to cardiology climic as he needs an echo. We received an appt for two week's time which I felt was efficient.

However at the appt all they did were obs and an ECG which is exactly what they did in A&E. We were told an echo would take 4-6wks.

What is the point of a cardiology climic that cannot do echos at point of attendance?

I feel they missed the whole teason of why my aon was referred to them and now I have no option but to pay privately to get this echo done in a timely manner.

I feel this was not a good example of right patient right place right time right treatment and am very disappointed that the very hospital I have worked for over the last 16yr has let us down. I have always been an advocate for Tameside but feel very disappointed on this occasion.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Yvonne Cox, PA to Director of Quality and Governance, Tameside and Glossop Integrated Care NHS Foundation Trust

We are really sorry you have had cause to post these comments about your recent experience

We take patient concerns very seriously and we can only improve if we know what is going wrong from a patient’s perspective.

In order to understand the specifics of your visit please could you contact the Pals and Complaints team on 0161 922 4466 or email Palsandcomplaints@tgh.nhs.uk so we can investigate this further.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful