"No appointments available"

About: NHS Highland (Health)

(as a relative),

I am writing concerning a relative of mine who is a type 1 diabetic.

My relative has had a nasty cold developing into a wheeze.

This has happened on several occasions. As a diabetic in my opinion, they ought to have an emergency appointment at Fairfield Surgery, Abbin Street, Inverness. He has been informed that there is no appointments available. Only to see the next person in the queue get an appointment for the next day. I know there should be no discrimination within the health service, but as a Type 1 Diabetic I would have assumed they would be seen quickly to prevent this turning into a hospital admission.

As a registered nurse I am disappointed with this treatment they have received.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Maimie Thompson, Head of Public Relations and Engagement, Chief Executive's Office, NHS Highland

picture of Maimie Thompson

Dear Olaf35

Thanks for getting in touch. As you know GPs are independent contractors and agree their own arrangements around appointments. However, I will get in touch with them and also find out how from others practices what their pathways of care are. And I will keep PO posted.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful