"Still awaiting appointment"

About: The Tunbridge Wells Hospital

Having been admitted to this hospital with sever abdominal pain 2 months ago, I received news I would need urgent surgery to remove a growth in my abdomen. Understandably they recommended I waited for a specialist surgeon which I happily did. Having had my surgery booked for a few weeks and finally psyched myself up mentally for the operation i had a phone call the evening before to say it was cancelled.

The staff showed no remorse and simply ended the call by saying bye and hanging up. I returned the call when collecting myself to ask for further information and when my new appointment would be they simply told me to stop calling as there is nothing that can be done. Despite myself being admitted to A&E twice over two months with severe pain and being sent home on both occasions. I am completely disgusted that they can cancel a surgery the night before with no regards for the patients whatsoever.

Not only do operations put a lot of burdens financially onto patients and their families during this difficult time, not to mention child care; there seems to be no regard for the mental well being of the patient. This being my first surgery I have been terrified for weeks and gaining little sleep. Completely disappointed by the service, i know i'm not the only patient and my thoughts go out to all those experiencing the same issues however, I am fed up of hearing "there are no beds as everyone keeps coming through A&E, there is nothing we can do".

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from The Tunbridge Wells Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your experience regarding a cancelled operation at Tunbridge Wells Hospital. We are sorry that your operation was cancelled at such short notice and the reason behind this was not fully explained to you. Naturally it is understandable that you would be anxious and it is with much regret that we have had to contact yourself and many other patients. The bed position is reviewed on a daily basis and all planned surgeries are taken into account. However, due to the increasing demands on beds from those patients who need to be admitted due to acute illness, clinical decisions have to be taken regarding those patients who are having planned surgery and who will also need a bed for recovery. Unfortunately, this often results in planned surgical patients being cancelled. We are currently looking at outsourcing patients to private hospitals if they are clinically suitable and the booking team are working through the waiting list in time order. With kind regards the PALS team

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful