"Patients are people not numbers"

About: Queen Elizabeth The Queen Mother Hospital

My wife had 13 week scan (a week late for 12 week scan) on the 4th February and we found out that our baby's heart stopped beating 2 weeks previously.

At 10am we were told to go home and we would receive a call from EPU that day.

My wife suffers with extreme anxiety and was worried about what was going to happen, from when we were told the terrible news we had to chase up a call back from Early pregnancy unit at 5.30pm.

They said to book in a scan in two weeks.. We went in on Saturday to get some answers and to speak to someone, we managed to speak to a junior doctor and the Gynaecologist Consultant, they booked us in for a Scan on Monday for a confirmation.

We had the confirmation scan on Monday 8/2/2015 and spoke to Early pregnancy unit, and she booked surgery for next Tuesday 16th of February.

My wife needed an earlier surgery but they did not have one available.

About midnight on the 8th Febuary my wife started cramping and loosing blood. We were taken to the hospital by ambulance.

At Accident and emergency they were chasing and waiting for the Gyno doctor She was Haemorrhaging badly, My wife went into shock due to so much blood loss.

I so nearly lost my wife as well as already losing our baby, I had to alert the Nurses myself of her condition.

While in Resus the Gyno Doctor came and she was rushed into emergency surgery, and then after successful surgery she was taken into Recovery.

She had to wait 5 hours for a bed in the Birchington Ward.

When she was taken to Birchington Ward she was quite ignored.

My wife was crying for several hours during the nightshift even though the nurses were aware they ignored her.

She felt she was treated as a number rather than a person.

After so much blood loss we had to chase up to have her blood pressure checked by the nurses.

They were more concerned with talking to each other than the patients.

My wife shattered as she was could not sleep and had to wait 4 hours for sleeping tablets, she was discharged today this morning 11/02/2016 even though she still had low blood pressure.

This has been a horrible traumatic time from over a week ago when we found out.

If my wife had had surgery straight away from receiving the terrible news then we would not have of had such a terrible experience.

My wife overheard from the patient next to her that she had a scan on Sunday and was booked in for Surgery today( less than a Week), when we would have had to wait nearly 2 weeks for surgery.

My wife is currently making a complaint through PALS of her treatment.

It makes you sick that if you pay for private treatment you would be moved to the top of the list and would be treated better.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Queen Elizabeth The Queen Mother Hospital

I am just so sorry.

You have both had an extremely traumatic experience and we most certainly need to find out what went wrong.

I am glad to learn that you have a complaint in progress and I hope that you find the response useful.

You can also ask the Patient Experience Team to organise a meeting for yourself and your wife with the clinician if you would find that useful.

Response from Sally Smith, Chief Nurse and Director Of Quality, East Kent Hospitals University NHS Foundation Trust

Thank you so much for taking the rouble to contact us. I am so sorry to hear of this distressing experience, and to hear of the wait you endured plus with some of the staff ignoring you - this is not the standard of care we want to deliver. I notice that you are contacting PALS. They will ensure your concerns are fully investigated.

please accept my sincere apologies.

I do hope you are both recovering after this traumatic time.

Best regards,


  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful