"wastefulness of resources and a lack of care."

About: Queen Elizabeth Hospital (Greater London)

No wonder the NHS is in a mess, what a wastefulness of resources and a lack of care, is the only way to sum up this hospital.

Patients are left with no dignity, my dad was left on a trolley in A&E from midnight until when he was admitted to a ward at 1pm the next day. Having had a cafeta fitted in A&E I had to ask if he could have a bottom sheet for the trolley as his exposed body was just laying on the plastic base of the trolley. He was one of the lucky ones on this particular evening as at least he had a cubicle, but there were trolleys backed up in the corridor full of patients, most with just a thin cloth covering their dignity.

The staff in A&E were overworked but very caring and professional.

The care stops once you are admitted to the ward, here you are then faced by a group of people who wear the badge and uniform of a nurse.

They are there to just administer the medication and most lack any care towards the patient.

Most of the nurses you cannot understand as they do not have a good enough command of English. They do not know what the doctor has said. You feel that you cannot approach them at the nurses station to ask a question, and when they do finally acknowledge you they come across as not knowing anything about the patient, even though they are administering the medication.They do not check if the patient is eating or drinking.

The food is so awful in this ward that it makes it impossible for the patient to eat.

So much money must be wasted in this area.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Queen Elizabeth Hospital

I am sorry to read your comments about your recent visit to the Emergency department (ED). All of our staff in the ED are trained to carry out their duties with due care and professionalism. I do apologise that this has not been your experience on this occasion.

However thank you for acknowledging how staff are working hard and in a professional and caring manor

Please be assured that all the concerns you have raised are acknowledged. I will be highlighting the points you raised to the whole team by sharing your experience with all staff so that we can learn from this with the aim of improving the future level of care we provide to our patients. If you would like your concerns investigated further and receive a formal response please contact the Patient Advice & Liaison Service (PALS) team at the Queen Elizabeth Hospital on 020 8836 4592. Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback.

Please note that your ward feedback was shared with all the matrons as a specific ward was not identified in the review, this will be disseminated to the ward managers.

Tracey Murphy

Emergency Department Matron

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful