"Rude Staff"

About: South Tyneside District Hospital

I was taken to A & E last week in the early hours as 111 had sent an ambulance due to suspected Chest Infection. Absolutely appalling doctors. The nurse that treated me was nice and did their job quickly. No offer of any painkillers. Doctor came, sent me for an x-ray which I had to take myself to, then had to wait for a long time with no staff giving me an update or checking on me.

While speaking to the doctor, they asked what medication I was on. When I told them and it therefore became apparent that I suffer with Mental Health conditions their entire attitude toward me changed. They were uncaring, questioning my pain and reason for coming to hospital. They were convinced there was nothing wrong with me and that I was there purely for attention. Just because those of us who have mental health issues cannot always explain things properly or understand things as well as others might does not mean that Doctors and Nurses do not have to treat us with dignity and respect. You get fobbed off as being a 'timewaster' or 'attention seeking'! How a chest infection can be described as attention seeking is beyond me as this is not my fault. When blood results came back, they showed I did have a chest infection, a prescription was shoved in my hand and said to go home. No indication of how severe infection was or any advice on how often and when to take the antibiotics, I had to get all that information from the pharmacy. This is all just evidence that staff need to be trained in how to deal with patients of all ages, race, disability etc.

This has put me off returning to the hospital whenever I may need it again.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from South Tyneside District Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to post on the NHS Choices web site your recent experience of our A&E service.

I am disappointed to learn of the manner in which you were treated when you recently attended A&E with a suspected chest infection.

The experience you describe is not that of the high standard we expect of our staff and I apologise for the way in which you were spoken to.

I have copied your comments to the managers of the service in order that they can discuss them with the staff to ensure they reflect on your experience for the benefits of future patients.

In the interim, I do hope your health improves.

Kind regards

Steve Williamson

Chief Executive

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful