"Attended an outpatient appointment in..."

About: Worcestershire Royal Hospital

I have previously attended 3 past appointments and 2 procedures with a family member. On all of these occasions we have being very satisfied with the level of care shown by all of the hospital staff from the receptionists, nurses and doctors.

My family member is registered blind and the staff have always been so accommodating. However we had a less than pleasant experience yesterday, where quite frankly a doctor made us feel like our appointment was a complete waste of all our time.

The doctor was uninterested, obtuse, rude and not helpful or forthcoming in the slightest way. I asked many questions which were answered with one word answers and immediately picked up on the faces they were pulling whilst my family member was talking. I had to ask the doctor to check the records for certain things which they did not offer up to do despite it being relevant to our appointment. My family member complained of sore ribs 3 times to hint at an examination but the doctor did not offer to do this.

After sensing the doctors boredom and frustration with my family member I just wanted to leave.

We were made to feel like we weren't deserving of the doctors time or help.

On leaving I commented to the nurse how off the doctor had been with us and they apologised profusely.

In future I will refuse to see this doctor again. We are very grateful for all of the care we have received in the past but we do not want to have a repeat experience like yesterday's.

It shows the importance of a bedside manner and how taking the time to talk a patient and show an interest in their health is all it takes.

I wish I had called this doctor out and told them how they were making us feel as they should not continue to judge people like that especially in their line of work.

More about:

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Worcestershire Royal Hospital

Thank you for leaving your comments. I am pleased to hear you have been very satisfied with your previous visits however I am so sorry to hear how you and your family member were made to feel during your recent appointment with the Doctor. We work hard to provide a good quality service so it is disappointing to hear you had such a negative experience.

We would like to reassure you that we take seriously any issues our patients and families raise with us, please contact our Patient Services Department on 0300 123 1732 or email patientservices.dept@worcsacute.nhs.uk if you would like us to investigate your concerns or arrange for you to speak to a member of staff about this.

I will also make sure your comments are passed onto the department.

Best Wishes

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful