"Excellent Tightrope reconstruction of ankle"

About: Royal Sussex County Hospital

Having dislocated my ankle and fractured my tibula I was admitted to Ward 8 A East at Royal Sussex County. The operation was carried out the following morning and the offending foot put in a Boot. The staff were friendly, reassuring, kind, helpful, efficient and kept me fully up to date with what was happening. The pain control was very effective and the self administered DVT injections easy and almost painless to perform. The Physiotherapists were excellent and after 3 days I was ready to return home after a wonderful short stay at the RSCH, incidentally with the exception of the Fish and Chip the food was really enjoyably. Well done and thank you everybody in 8 A East.

Now the problems start

I am nearly 70 years old, live alone in Peacehaven and am a State Pensioner on benefits, I.e. a very limited income. When I was discharged I was told that I was not eligible for hospital transport as I was "mobile". This was my second day ever on crutches with only one leg that could bear weight and confronted with three carrier bags full of medication given to me by the hospital, dirty clothing, some food and all my personal belongings. I was told to get a taxi, I certainly cannot afford a taxi from Brighton to Peacehaven. I was then told to get a Bus, 69 years old, newly on crutches with 3 heavy bags to balance on the handles of the crutches, a sure recipe for ending up back in hospital I think! Eventually my son had to not work for half a day to get me home, naturally so he did not end up out of pocket I had to pay his losses, money I sorely could not afford.

Final judgement

Doctors, nurses, all associated staff, service, food, care at rsch absolutely wonderful.

Hospital Transport..... 69 years old, 3 bags, crutches, get a bus.... a sad joke and totally disgusting.

What a shame a really good experience was ruined by nit-picking, red tape addicted Hospital Transport

Geoff Chantry

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Royal Sussex County Hospital

Dear Mr Chantry,

First I would like to thank you for the kind words you have posted here about your treatment by staff in the Orthopaedic and Physiotherapy departments whilst in the Royal Sussex County Hospital recently.

I am glad to see everything went smoothly and hope you are well on the way to recovery now.

I was however very sorry to hear about your experience of the discharge process and the difficulties you then had getting home.

I am very grateful to you for raising these.

I will forward your post to the Orthopaedic and Physio Teams, who I know will be delighted to see it.

Your discharge is certainly not how we would want it to be for you and I will also pass this on to our Lead Nurse for Discharge Issues.

Whilst we sadly cannot change what happened to you, we can try and ensure changes for the future to improve this process.

Kind regards,

Andrew Harvey

Patient Advice & Liaison Service

Brighton & Sussex University Hospitals

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful