"The right choice"

About: Birmingham Women's Hospital

Baby delivered: 15.03.14 My pregnancy required monitoring so every week I was given an appointment for a specialised scan. The consultant who I was under was so professional and particular about my care. I felt the Hospital really took care of my pregnancy and despite the long wait for the appointments I appreciated all the care I received. I was meant to have my baby in the Birth centre and I was really looking forward to that, however because I was overdue and had to be induced hence moved to the antenatal ward. Once there the induction process was swift and I was dilated fully in a few painful hours! In the end the consultant led delivery required a ventouse delivery and having to be cut and stitched which was quite scary. The Consultant handled my situation very well and made quick important decisions and I am thankful that my baby daughter was delivered fine. Overall I was disappointed with the care of the Midwife on the day, she spoke in a friendly manner but wasn't empathetic. But if I have another baby then I trust Birmingham womens hospital especially the Consultant care.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Birmingham Women's Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to feedback and we are sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your care. We will look into the issues you have raised and your comments will be passed on to the teams in Maternity and Radiology. Ensuring all our patients receive high quality care is very important to us and it is concerning to hear that you were so disappointed. Wishing you the very best with the rest of your pregnancy. Birmingham Women's Hospital

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful