"Terrible post natal ward"

About: Leeds General Infirmary

I gave birth un expectedly at home and was transferred to hospital afterwards to be check and have the injection as the placenta hadn't come.

What a horrible experience - Thank God my baby was born at home after all I wouldn't have wanted to be in there a minute longer.

Staff were so rushed that when they were stitching me up the member of staff doing it kept getting called away and asked questions by another person hovering at the door and my husband had to put on gloves and hand what was needed from the tray as there was no other staff available as they seemed totally over run.

Not only that probably due to the rush I developed a skin tag where sewn up which has been cauterised buy will eventually after having all my children require an operation!

Then moving to the postnatal ward to the nurse supposed to support with breast feeding was rude and abrupt leaving me feel like I didn't know what I was doing and after a night of no sleep this didn't help the experience.

The ward is suffocatingly hot and oppressive with people coming round trying to sell you bounty photos of your baby.

Those who take them up on it are then having flash photography on the ward which means you cant sleep and it adds more noise to an already noisey ward that has a lot of visitors.

12 hours after I had arrived at the hospital I signed myself out and will never return.

When I asked to leave the midwife told me I couldn't at first even thought I knew I could leave at any time.

The when I pushed this they tried to put me off as they obviously didn't want to do the paperwork telling me it would take several hours to do and it was 6pm already.

I said I didn't care how long it took and low and behold it was completed in 20 minutes!

Whilst on this ward with my baby he was well cared for (I.e. checks for temperature and all the other things they check) but I wasn't checked at all.

I has a bad second degree tear with terrible bruising and was not offered any pain killers and in the 14 hours I was on this ward only one ice pack.

I would never ever return!!!!!!

It spoilt my first day with my son - a home birth for me next time - planned this time round to avoid ever having to come here again.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Shannon Dunford, PALS Officer, Patient Experience, PALS, Leeds Teaching Hospitals

Dear Sarah

Thank you for taking the time to write to us.

I am very sorry to read that you feel you had such a terrible experience on our post natal ward and that the care given did not meet your standards.

Unfortunately there is not enough information in your post to allow us to look into the matters you have raised thoroughly therefore I would ask that you contact our Trust’s Patient Advise and Liaison Service (PALS).

This would also allow us look into the matters you have raised more thoroughly and also to see what lessons we could learn from your experience.

Please call our Patient Advise and Liaison Service (PALS) on 0113 206 6261 or alternatively email patientexperience.leedsth@nhs.net

Kind regards


Senior Nurse

Patient Experience

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful