"Unjoined up, unholistic, doctor-focused care"

About: The Royal London Hospital

I attended neurosurgery outpatients for a regular monitoring visit today. I have longstanding and painful spinal conditions; prolapsed cervical (neck) discs, and lower back pain with sciatica. Sitting, standing, and lying down are all painful in different ways. I'm young and otherwise fit. The consultant has today ordered an MRI scan for the neck, but refused even to discuss the lower back condition as it's 'new' and so referred me back to my GP who will in all probability refer me back to the consultant again for a scan. It is crazy that the two bits of the same spine could not be dealt with at the same time and scanned at the same time, instead or requiring separate referrals at probably double the cost.

For all the rhetoric about patient-centred, holistic and joined up care, why do we so often end up with unjoined up, unholistic, doctor-focused care which wastes everyone's time and NHS money?

Where they should see a patient, they see a bone or ideally a bone that can be pushed away to a different NHS cost centre.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from The Royal London Hospital

We are very sorry to read your experience during your visit for your Neurosurgery appointment. This must have been very upsetting and frustrating for you.

We would like to look into the concerns you have raised here and the care you are receiving in more detail. We ask that you contact us so that we are able to discuss this with you. Please contact our Patient, Advice and Liaison Service to do this. The team can be contacted on 020 3594 2040 or by email: pals@bartshealth.nhs.uk

Kind regards

Barts Health NHS Trust

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful