"Will not use again!"

My 7 year old daughter had high temp and several white spots on tonsils which I explained were surely bacterial but we were sent away with "viral" infection very uninterested in what I was saying.

however my child become really poorly unable to control her temp with calpol and nurofen I rang nhs direct who explained that she needed antibiotics so I then had to see her gp the next day who said it was a clear case of bacterial tonsilitis and gave her the medication she needed!

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Walk in Centre

Thank you for your comments on our services at Westgate Walk in Centre. We are very sorry that you feel we did not give your daughter the treatment that you felt she required at the time of her attendance.

Our staff follow local and national recommendations, as well the Trust’s guidance on treatment of minor illnesses and would have used these guidelines when making a recommendation for her treatment.

Without further details of your daughter’s case we cannot make any further comment in regards to what led to the Nurse Practitioner to believe her condition was viral but would be keen to investigate your concerns in order to understand what we could have done better in for your daughter. If you would be willing to contact the Patient Relations Department to provide some further details, we can investigate the incident fully and provide you with more personal feedback. Please email: Patient.relations@nuth.nhs.uk or telephone 0191 2231382.

We are also disappointed to note that that you felt the staff where uninterested in what you had to say and we would like to assure you that your comments have been discussed with the team and have been taken seriously.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful