"Waiting over a week for a fracture clinic..."

About: Manchester Royal Infirmary

I realise it's free at the point of need however really concerned at having my daughter wait for over one week to have a fibreglass cast fitted to treat her broken tibia.

At present she is in so much pain, and the current backboard cast is so heavy, she needs help sitting up in bed, lying down again, getting out of of bed and using the toilet.

After having been in A & E and the the ESTU ward for a total of seven hours on Sunday (which incidentally is not an issue for me), it seems that we cannot get an appointment for the fracture clinic to get the proper cast on - which the orthopaedic registrar termed as "urgent - please prioritise" until next Monday - eight days later!

Some of the administrative staff didn't seem to know what they were doing and have been quite rude both to my partner and my daughter when they have called to enquire about the appointment.

On a personal level really concerned for my daughter and her discomfort and pain - but also concerned at what feels like a developing world hospital service-level.

In terms of cleanliness, I found A&E to be dirty however ESTU was spotless.

On a more positive note, we had contact with two friendly and efficient ambulance staff, a wonderful nurse in A& E and the other medical staff both in A&E and ESTU seemed efficient and friendly.

I would really appreciate an explanation as to why it's going to take so long to sort out my daughter's problem but feel that this would be an additional burden which will take time and resource to answer.

Overall a very worrying experience.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Manchester Royal Infirmary

We were very sorry to receive your comments and concerns via the NHS Choices website about both yours and your daughter’s experiences in the A&E department and the issues you are experiencing in obtaining an appointment in the fracture clinic. It is very difficult to respond to the specific concern you have raised without having more of your details to be able to investigate properly and subsequently provide you with an informed response as to why there may be a delay with the fracture clinic and why this has occurred. However, we take all issues surrounding patient care very seriously and so would very much like to hear from you directly about this. If you contact our Patient Advice and Liaison Service on 0161 276 8686 or by e-mailing pals@cmft.nhs.uk they will be happy to discuss this with you.

In addition, we would like to apologise that you have been spoken to rudely when calling to enquire about the appointment as this is not the standard we expect from our staff when dealing with any of our patients.

The Patient Experience Team

Central Manchester University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful