"Extraction from hell!"

About: Leeds Dental Hospital

After suffering on going problems because of my impacted wisdom tooth my dentist (private) referred me to Leeds Hopsitals for its extraction. Initially my examinations were at Seacroft and were very good, I was given scans and due to the location of tooth and nerve it was arranged for me to have the operation at the dental hospital.

Upon arrival I was welcomed warmly and briefed - very friendly and settling. It took a while for the nurse to get a IV in and when they administered the general anaesthetic the pain was unbearable - the next I knew was waking up and it being unbearable! I was left for about an hour which felt like 5 Mins before being rushed to get dressed and hobble out! With no pain medication just told to buy some paracetamol!

Well..... my face swelled up the size of a baboons - that was fine. What was not fine was the God awful pain! 3 days later and after stepping up the drugs from paracetamol to cocodamol I simply could not cope and went to a and e in wakefield. I spent 24 hour on antibiotic drip, strong painkillers and being monitor. I had my stitches removed to release the infection....... yucky!

Still in pain now but at home with proper medicine and care. I would not return to the dental hospital because: felt rushed, poor aftercare, left with horrendous bruising, pain and infection!

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Shannon Dunford, PALS Officer, Patient Experience, PALS, Leeds Teaching Hospitals

Dear Anonymous

Thank you for taking the time to write to us.

I am very sorry to read that you feel you had such a poor experience at Leeds Dental Hospital and that the care given did not meet your standards.

Unfortunately there is not enough information in your post to allow us to look into the matters you have raised thoroughly therefore I would ask that you contact our Trust’s Patient Advise and Liaison Service (PALS).

This would also allow us look into the matters you have raised more thoroughly and also to see what lessons we could learn from your experience.

Please call our Patient Advise and Liaison Service (PALS) on 0113 206 6261 or alternatively email patientexperience.leedsth@nhs.net

Kind regards


Senior Nurse

Patient Experience

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful