"Do I exist?"

About: Leighton Hospital

Appointment for thyroid treatment at Macclesfield hospital was cancelled due to strike on the 12th January '15 not that anybody bothered to let me know - had to phone consultant's secretary who was very good but annoyed & exasperated that the reception staff had not informed patients for that day that all appointments were cancelled - I was the 4th one to contact them for information that morning.

Not heard anything since went to Macclesfield hospital who told me to contact Leighton Hospital when I phoned the number provided for endocrinology the person I spoke to could not be bothered - they did not even bother to ask my name as a patient to this particular doctor- if it was conveniently forgotten to phone me about cancellation of the appointment due the strike like other patients I pretty sure I have been conveniently forgotten about to re arrange an appointment for treatment for a thyroid condition - it is so rude, inappropriate & very annoying to be ignored when you require treatment by staff at a reception desk who think they are something else & give the NHS a very bad name as very unprofessional - I do not include the consultant or their secretary in that statement - Guess what? Its 31st January & still no communication whatsoever as to when i will get treatment - sure i am not the only one!

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Leighton Hospital

Thank you for raising your concerns. Unfortunately, a number of clinic appointments were cancelled for the 12th January 2016 so that our hospital remained safe for inpatients and emergency admissions. Our appointments team tried very hard to inform all the patients who were affected by this and I offer my sincere apologies that you were not contacted. We have recently introduced a text reminder system which will enable us to contact patient’s quickly at short notice if we have their mobile number which will help improve communications.

With regard to your changed appointment, if you have still not received this can I suggest you contact our Customer Care Team on 01270 612410 with your details so that this can be followed up with the relevant clinical team

Best Wishes

Sue Hamman, Divisional Lead Nurse/ Professional Lead

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful